Waiting periods after a bankruptcy and/or foreclosure

There are many different loan programs offered and each has their own unique waiting period requirements. Today I will focus on three of the most popular loan products VA, FHA, and Conventional loans. The waiting periods before the borrower is able to once again qualify are as follows:

VA loans: Require two years after bankruptcy discharge and 2 years after foreclosure completion. There may be some exceptions to these waiting periods in the case of an extenuating circumstance out of the Veterans control(case by case basis)

FHA Loans: Require two years after a bankruptcy discharge and three years after a foreclosure completion. Just as in the case of VA loans, there may be some exceptions available due to extenuating circumstances that can be reviewed on a case by case basis.

Conventional loans: Require 4 years after bankruptcy discharge and 7 years after foreclosure completion. Fannie Mae and Freddie Mac are not as flexible as FHA and VA but exceptions are granted from time to time.

Getting started is easy. We offer very competitive rates, have great service, and always close on time.

Best Mortgage companies in Chula Vista


Andre Enriques
License # NMLS 220937
DRE # 01713544

Contact Us

Andre Enriques Mortgage Banker - VA Loan Expert, a dba of Anchor Funding Inc

Chula Vista Office
Phone: (619) 323-2066
Cell (619) 208-6499
891 Kuhn Drive, Suite #204
Chula Vista, CA 91914

San Diego Office
Phone: (619) 208-6499
6336 Greenwich Dr, Suite A
San Diego, CA 92122

Social Media

More Links

Equal Housing Lender

NOT ALL APPLICANTS QUALIFY. First Priority Home Loans is a DBA of Anchor Funding, Inc. is licensed by The
California Bureau of Real Estate #01276087. FHA Non-supervised lender #00257-0000-5
NMLS #1626581 & #236419
NMLS Consumer Access
Loans made or arranged pursuant to the California Department of Financial Protection and Innovation
California Finance Lenders Law license number 603 L293